why go 1500 miles.

traveling to share the gospel should be an overflow of our hearts, and a call God has placed upon our life for that particular time, season, and trip.

if you know me, you know that one of my greatest blessings and deepest desires is missions. I absolutely love spending days and weeks on the “mission field”. I would be lying if I said it was happy, full of excitement, and refreshing all the time. yes, it is all of those things + SO much more, but it’s also tiring, emotional, physically, and spiritually draining. waking up before the birds gets harder and harder each morning you’re there. all the car problems and changes in the schedule make you more and more flexible (and sometimes irritated) by the day.

BUT it is all so worth it. every tear shed. every car problem. every change in schedule. every night with one less hour of sleep. it is ALL worth for every soul touched. every soul impacted. every soul with a new seed planted. every soul saved. those very souls are what makes it all so undeniably worth it.

man. I pray that I can express my heart to you adequately, but without doubt, I know I will fall so short of being able to.

I have been asked more times than not

  • why go all the way there?
  • why not stay around here?
  • are you sure you want to go 1500 miles?

I have answered those questions various times with multiple different answers. the more I think about those questions, the more I ponder on the why. why do we go 1500 miles away? why do we go in the hot summer and very cold winter? why do we spend our Christmas traveling in a van with people besides our family?

I finally came to this conclusion… if we all had that attitude, who would go? who would go and build relationships with the Navajo people in a place that most people have no idea where it is on a map? who would go love those people in a way they’ve never known? who would feed their bellies in the mornings and the afternoons? who would go tell them about grace and mercy? who would go share the goodness of Jesus?

if I don’t go and you don’t go, who will? I started this post off by saying I love nothing more than being on the “mission field”. I purposely put those two words in quotes. church, we must stop thinking that our “mission field” is 1500 miles, 3 connecting flights, and a train ride away. as Christians we are called to be on mission day in and day out. we are living in our mission field. we are called to share the gospel right where we are, right where God has planted us. and if we don’t share to the ones around us, in our everyday circle, we will never be able to share 1500 miles, 3 connecting flights, and a train ride away either.

woah. let’s read that again.

we are called to share the gospel right where we are, right where God has planted us. and if we don’t share to the ones around us, in our everyday circle, we will never be able to share 1500 miles, 3 connecting flights, and a train ride away either.

when we grasp that, truly grasp it, I believe wholeheartedly that our lives will be rocked and dramatically changed. we will desire to share to the people we come in contact with throughout the week whether that’s on the ball field, in the office, at the doctor, or in the grocery line. and if your desire is not to share the greatest news of all, why? ask yourself why your deepest desire is not for others to come and know the One who paid the way for us, the One who lavishes underserved grace upon us, and the One who forgives and loves us unconditionally.

going 1500 miles is phenomenal, and more than needed. BUT if you’re only going there and sharing, and doing nothing the other 50+ weeks of the year, we have a problem – more importantly, we have a heart issue. after all, the community you are in those other weeks is your Jerusalem.

traveling to share the gospel should be an overflow of our hearts, and a call God has placed upon our life for that particular time, season, and trip.

so, I say all of this to ask you, WHY? why are you going? why aren’t you going? why are you sharing to the ones around you? why aren’t you sharing to the ones around you? check your heart, are your motives clean and pure? are you aching for souls to be saved in your hometown and for the souls that 1500 miles, 3 connecting flights, and a train ride away too?

I’m thankful for the opportunities to travel 1500 miles away, but I pray for more opportunities in my everyday world that I’m in the other 50+ weeks of the year.


therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. and surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age. – Matthew 28:19-20
but you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth. – Acts 1:8
and he said to them, “go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. – Mark 16:15
2 thoughts on “why go 1500 miles.

Leave a Reply

